Idaho’s New Hands-Free Cell Phone Law Goes Into Effect Wednesday
Meridian has a hands free ordinance. Boise has a hands free ordinance. Starting Wednesday, every driver in Idaho will have to obey similar rules when it comes to using tech behind the wheel.
Are you sitting there scratching your head going "when did Idaho pass that law?" Don't feel too bad if you feel out of the loop. You likely didn't hear much about it because it passed a few days after Idaho's first confirmed case of COVID-19. From that point on it seemed like scary headlines and pretty pictures of Idaho meant to calm us dominated newscasts.
That's why we're here to remind you, Idaho DID pass a statewide hands free law and it goes into effect on Wednesday, July 1. Under the new law, drivers may only use an electronic device in hands-free mode while behind the wheel. That includes if you're stopped at a red light or stop sign. If you want to make a call, use your GPS or send a voice text, you can only do that with a one-touch or voice command.
What happens if you get popped for violating the new statewide law? You'll be out $75 for your first offense, $150 for your second within three years and if you get three or more within 3 years, it'll cost you $300 each time. You may also lose your license for up to 90 days.
Lucky, ISP's going to give you some time to get use to the new routine. According to CBS 2, they'll issue warnings until the end of the year. They won't start writing citations until January 1, 2021.