College football season just got more interesting! One of the major conferences who initially said they would not play football reversed that decision. 

The Big Ten unanimously voted to get back on the gridiron the weekend of October 24. That means Ohio State, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State, Rutgers, Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin will all try to play a shortened, eight game season and Big Ten Championship game before College Football Playoff teams are selected.

107.9 LITE FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

No tickets will be sold to fans. Rapid COVID-19 testing for players and coaching staffs begins on September 30. According to CBS Sports, if a player does test positive they won't be allowed to return to play for at least three weeks after the diagnosis. They'll also need to be cleared by a university designated cardiologist now that myocarditis associated with COVID-19 is affecting people that previously had not been diagnosed with a heart problem.

Could the Mountain West be the next college sports conference to reinstate fall football? Following the Big Ten's announcement the conference posted this statement on their Twitter page:

Boise State head coach, Bryan Harsin, hopes that the statement and Big Ten's decision is a step in the right direction:


The Mountain West does have some challenges that the Big Ten does not. It has member schools in states like California and Hawaii which are still under some pretty rigid COVID-19 restrictions.

It could be a long shot, but we're still keeping our fingers crossed that the Broncos will be back on the iconic blue turf for at least a few games during the Albertsons Stadium 50th Anniversary.

Plus, our hearts can't take seeing that sad photo of Buster looking into a locked stadium again.

KEEP READING: See how sports around the world have been impacted by the coronavirus


More From 107.9 LITE FM