If Whitney Houston and Dave Matthews Band get into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame next year, it might be because you had something to do with it.  The fan ballot will have a big impact on this year's class of nominees.  

Fan voting continues through January 10, 2020, and you can vote for your favorite nominees at RockHall.com.  The site will track how many times you've voted each day, and you can vote for up to five nominees daily.

The first-time nominees are:

The Doobie Brothers, Pat Benatar, Thin Lizzy, T. Rex, Soundgarden, Motörhead, Dave Matthews Band, the late Whitney Houston, and late rapper The Notorious B.I.G.

Those who have been nominated once before:

Todd Rundgren, Nine Inch Nails, Judas Priest, Depeche Mode, Kraftwerk, MC5 and Rufus featuring Chaka Khan.

To be eligible, an artist's first commercial recording has to be at least 25 years old.  The five artists with the most votes will make the official "fans ballot" and that will be counted along with the voting committee's ballots in January when the 2020 inductees are announced.

These artists wouldn't have made it this far without fans like us, and now the rock hall is going to let us impact their careers through more than just record sales and merch purchases.  I'm voting for Whitney Houston, Pat Benatar, Soundgarden, Dave Matthews Band, and The Doobie Brothers, so if you disagree, you'd better vote and cancel me out!

The 2020 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will happen at Public Auditorium in Cleveland on May 2, 2020 and it's going to be live this year, instead of taped.  Check it out on HBO Max, and don't forget to vote.

More From 107.9 LITE FM