Did you get a Facebook message from a friend or follower stating that they've received another "friend request" from you and then asking you to copy and paste their message, forwarding so you can warn others?  If so... you've been SCAMMED!

Don't fall for it.  If someone's asking you to copy, paste and send something on... often times it's a scam of some sort.  The latest message warning Facebookers they've been cloned is just itching for you to do exactly what it says to do.  Chances are there's something in there that can make your account vulnerable.  Here's what a lot of those messages are looking like...

Credit: Rick Dunn / TSM

If you receive a message like this, first, search your name - has your account actually been cloned? If you do see another account with your name, report it to Facebook.  CBS News has some east steps you can take if you suspect you've been hacked, as well:

  • If you worry that your account has been hacked, there is a simple way to check. Go to the arrow in the upper left-hand corner of your Facebook page and click on it. In the menu, select Settings. A new menu will pop up. Choose Security and then Where You're Logged In.
  • A list of all of the devices that you've logged into and their locations. If there is a login you don't recognize, chances are you may have been hacked. If you see anything that isn't you, click End Activity on the right side of the log to end the session. The hacker will be logged out temporarily.
  • Then be sure to change your password. It's a good practice to occasionally change your passwords on a regular basis.